My Online Fantasy/Sci-Fi Novel is Teaching Me Things


It’s going well so far. I’m really enjoying writing it, treating each ‘chapter’ as a little exercise in flash-ish fiction, and also working out the bigger story picture and how to tell in terms of the characters (probably the part I love most about writing!).

It’s strange how online writing and publishing is completely different to working on novel offline. A few things I’ve learned along the way …

– Writing fiction regularly is tough work! Especially when you’re aiming to publish once a week or so. I always feel like I’m pressed for time and chasing my tail. But maybe that’s because I’m a perfectionist and I want to revise, revise, revise everything a hundred times.

– Publishing the story online, as you write each bit, forces you to think about the bigger picture very early on. At first I had dreams of simply making it up as I went along, but with a complex plot like this, it’s just not possible. And it’s difficult, because I know I won’t be able to go back and revise or change the main storyline or relation/order of events later on.

– What’s better – perfecting or publishing? I wonder a lot. Is it better to just get something out there, even if it’s not perfect? Or is it better polish and perfect before you publish? This is in no means my best fiction or writing work, and naturally I lean towards the latter. But at least it keeps me writing … ! (?)

If you haven’t had a chance to check it out yet or follow it, you can do so here: https://lastdarkness.wordpress.com/

city 2

 

Leave a Reply

